Sections

Weather Forecast

Close

TIGER RDP: Hoop teams win, wrestlers open season

The Northwestern High School basketball teams notched victories Tuesday, Nov. 27.

The Tiger boys opened their season with a 77-48 win over the Washburn Castle Guards at home, while the NHS girls improved to 2-0 with a 44-39 overtime win at Ashland.

The Tiger boys got scoring from 11 players with Andrew Klobucher leading the way with 12 points.

Michael Knaack and Greg Ruhman were also in double figures with 11 points apiece.

The Northwestern boys played at South Shore on Thursday, Nov. 29, host Chetek-Weyerhaeuser on Dec. 6.

The Tiger girls open conference play at Chetek-Weyerhaeuser on Friday, Nov. 30, and host Spooner on Tuesday, Dec. 4. Both games begin at 7:15 p.m.

Washburn    17 31 — 48

Northwestern    40 37 — 77

Washburn -- Totals 48.

3-point goals -- None.

Northwestern -- Brody Payton 9, Jagar Stillson 3, Trevor Priem 6, Jenner Graff 5, Andrew Klobucher 12, Michael Knaack 11, Sam Risley 8, Nolan Gustafson 8, Greg Ruhman 11, Gervase Thompson 2, Carsen Nykanen 2. Totals 4-12 77.

3-point goals -- Jagar Stillson 1, Trevor Priem 2, Jenner Graff 1, Andrew Klobucher 4, Michael Knaack 3, Nolan Gustafson 2.

Wrestling

The Tigers opened the season Thursday, Nov. 29, at Hayward.

Northwestern was double winners in the Heart O’ North Conference last season. The Tigers won the regular-season championship with a 6-0 dual meet record, then finished first in the HON tournament.

Greg Brown and Tim Kaufman are the Tigers’ co-head coaches this season with Bruce Nelson serving as the assistant coach.

The Tigers, who lost seven seniors from last year’s squad, will be led by senior captains Zack Pooler and Luke Gregerson.

Other returning varsity wrestlers include Braden Trautt, Tjay Zebarth, Isaiah Huray, Abby Nelson, Alex Goodlet and Jordon Herman.

Also new to the team is junior Mark Brown, who as a freshman placed fifth at state a year ago at 106 pounds for Bayfield/Washburn.

Northwestern High School

Wrestling Boys Schedule

Thur., Nov. 29 at Hayward, 7 p.m.

Sat., Dec. 1 Ellsworth Invite, 10 a.m.

Thur., Dec. 13 vs. Ashland, 7 p.m.

Sat., Dec. 15 at Pine City Invite, 10 a.m.

Tue., Dec. 18 vs. Bloomer-Colfax, 7 p.m.

Friday, Dec. 28 at River Falls, 8 a.m.

Thur., Jan. 3 at Spooner, 7 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 5 at Superior Invite, 10:30 a.m.

Tue., Jan. 8 at Proctor, 4 p.m.

Thur., Jan. 10 at Superior, 7 p.m.

Thur., Jan. 17 at Barron, 7 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 19 at St. Croix Falls Invite, 10 a.m.

Friday, Jan. 25 HON at Hayward, 5 p.m.

Sat., Feb. 2 HON at Chetek, 9 a.m.

Sat., Feb. 9 WIAA Regional at Barron

Tue., Feb. 12 Team Sectional at Osceola

Sat., Feb. 16 WIAA Sectional at Neillsville

Thur., Feb. 21 State at UW-Madison

randomness