Sections

Weather Forecast

Close

PREVIEW: Eagle boys win opener

The Solon Springs High School boys basketball team treated new coach Marcus Besonen to a 69-51 win at Frederic on Thursday, Nov. 29.

Besonen, the Eagles' longtime volleyball coach, takes over a team from Dale Rajala which went 17-7 last year. They also finished fourth in the Indianhead Conference at 10-6.

The Eagles will need to replace Jens Gehl, Nick Zosel and Chase Latvala, all lost through graduation. The 6-foot-6 Gehl was the 2018 Superior Telegram Player of the Year as well as first-team all-conference.

Looking to fill in for Gehl's 18.6 points and 10 rebounds per game will be returning starters Caden Smith, Alex Hunter, Christian Sellwood and James Gehl.

"We have team speed, scoring ability and guard leadership, but we lack size and true post presence and our depth is inexperienced," Besonen said. "Our goal is to compete for the conference title and look to maintain winning ways."

Besonen also said that Drummond and Ironwood will be among the top teams in the conference.

"Drummond, with its returning players and consistency in its program, also has high expectations," Besonen said. "Ironwood has some key returners and had a solid JV team to draw from the year before. After that it is very even and we would like to think we can challenge for any of the top spots barring injury."

EAGLE EXTRAS: Solon Springs assistant coach is Brandon Molina. ... The Eagles' last conference title was the 2016-17 season and they are seeking their first state tournament appearance. ... Gehl, who also averaged 2.2 assists, one block and 1.3 steals per game, joined the Eagles' 1,000-point club last season. His 334 points this season put his three-year career total at 1,134.

Solon Springs Eagles

Boys Basketball Roster

2 Caden Smith 12

3 Aaron Pfister 11

10 Alex Hunter 12

20 Luke Dahlberg 12

22 Owen Dickenson 11

23 James Gehl 11

24 Christian Sellwood 12

30 Erick Hendon 11

33 Benjamin Monson 10

34 Calin Lisson 10

44 Elijah Molina 10

JV Roster

Gage Blaylock, 9; Noland Burchfield, 10; Benjamin Dickenson, 9; Gavin Sellwood, 9; Colby Latvala, 9; Erick Hendon, 11; Benjamin Monson, 10; Elijah Molina, 10.

Solon Springs Eagles

Boys Basketball Schedule

Thur., Nov 29 at Frederic (W, 69-51)

Mon., Dec 3 at Ironwood, 7:15 p.m.

Mon., Dec 10 at Mercer, 7:15 p.m.

Tue., Dec 11 at Northwood, 7:15 p.m.

Thur., Dec 13 at Bayfield, 7:15 p.m.

Mon., Dec 17 vs. South Shore, 7:15 p.m.

Clayton Tournament

Thur., Dec 27 vs. Prairie Farm, 12:30 p.m.

Fri., Dec. 28 at Clayton, 2:15 p.m.

Thur., Jan 3 vs. Butternut, 7:15 p.m.

Mon., Jan 7 at Drummond, 7:15 p.m.

Thur., Jan 10 vs. Hurley, 7:15 p.m.

Tue., Jan 15 vs. Ironwood, 7:15 p.m.

Thur., Jan 17 vs. Mercer, 7:15 p.m.

Fri., Jan 18 at Mellen, 7:15 p.m.

Fri., Jan 25 vs. Bayfield, 7:15 p.m.

Tue., Jan 29 at South Shore, 7:15 p.m.

Fri., Feb 1 vs. Washburn, 7:15 p.m.

Tue., Feb 5 at Butternut, 7:15 p.m.

Fri., Feb 8 vs. Drummond, 7:15 p.m.

Sat., Feb 9 at Birchwood, 3:30 p.m.

Tue., Feb 12 at Hurley, 7:15 p.m.

Mon., Feb 18 vs. Clear Lake, 7:15 p.m.

Tue., Feb 26 WIAA Regional, 7 p.m.

Fri., March 1 WIAA Regional, 7 p.m.

Sat., Mar 2 WIAA Regional, 7 p.m.

randomness